The role-playing thread?

Ask and help answer questions about the WolfQuest game and forum. Check the Knowledge Base first! http://support.wolfquest.org

Moderator: Neamara

Echodream
Pup
Pup

The role-playing thread?

Post by Echodream » Wed May 17, 2017 6:30 pm

Hello! I have yet another question that I've been trying to look for an answer of but haven't found one, so I decided to make a thread here!

This time it's about the Wolfquest Role-play Thread.

Now, I may be a newbie to Wolfquest forums and how role-playing works here, but I've been role-playing and talking on other forums for about 3 years or more now, so I've done my fair share of role-playing and am familiar with common golden rules and such that tend to be common when role-playing.

But I've never been on a site where all the role-playing takes place on one, single thread. My question, or rather, questions are as follows:

• What P.O.V. are you supposed to use? I always tend to use third person, yet it seems a lot are using first person to role-play. Does it matter which one is used?

• Where do you even begin? How do you, "jump in" when there is so many different things going on at once? Am I supposed to read what was last said, no matter how long ago, and try jumping in there with my character? Or do I just make my own post of something different happening and wait for someone to reply to that?

• How to I keep notified about people replying to me, or notifying others? Is there a way to like, alert, or ping a user when you reply?

• Is there anything that I should be aware of that is a rule for role-play I must not do besides what is stated in the rules? I know other role-plays commonly have "no controlling everything, spotlighting, mary sue, etc.", is wolf quest the same? Are there some "ghost rules" I am unaware of? I want to make sure I don't break any rules.